Fincastle, VA – The Commonwealth’s 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect Feb. 15, 2013 – the start of spring fire season in Virginia.
Specifically, the 4 p.m. law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each day (Feb. 15 – April 30) if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials. However, Botetourt County residents are asked to use extreme caution with fire during this critical period. Seasonal winds dry out woody and grass fuels that have accumulated over the winter and greatly increase the danger of wildfire. Outdoor burning at any time should be avoided.
A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property.
Detailed information about the 4 p.m. Burning Law can be found on the Virginia Dept. of Forestry (VDOF) website’s Frequently Asked Questions page about Burning and the 4 PM Law.