After Saturday’s OT win over the Hokies, N.C. State coach Mark Gottfried said he wanted to see the video to discover why Jarell Eddie was not boxed out on the bucket that forced overtime.
After watching the tape, Gottfried came to the same conclusion that ESPN2 analyst Fran Fraschilla did during the telecast: Eddie’s bucket should not have counted.
The Wolfpack led 78-75 when Lorenzo Brown fouled Erick Green with 5.2 seconds left in regulation.
Green made the first free throw but intentionally missed the second, with the ball hitting the right side of the rim and backboard. When Green was at the free-throw line, Eddie was to his right — behind the 3-point arc.
Teammate Cadarian Raines moved from the right side of the lane to the left side, with two defenders following him. That gave Eddie a clear path to the right side of the basket.
A soaring Eddie grabbed the ball when it bounced off the backboard and scored on the putback to tie the score at 78 with 4 seconds left.
But Eddie left his spot behind the 3-point arc while Green’s free throw was still in the air.
Eddie ”started at the top of the key, and the rule is, is that player, if you’re not on the lane, you cannot leave and cross that plane at the top of the key until the ball hits the rim,” Gottfried said. “[Eddie] obviously did and in my opinion that basket should have been waved off. … The rule is in place for the very reason that if a player starts at the top of the key, you really don’t have any opportunity to block him out. ”
Gottfried said the ACC office is aware of the situation. (The ACC office is closed today for President’s Day; VT has not heard from the ACC office).
Here is the video of the play: